8 Rules of Writing That Are Easy to Break

Dysfunctional Literacy

There are a lot of rules to writing (and I think I just broke five of them with this opening sentence), so many that I won’t even try to list all of them.  As an amateur, I read about rules of writing because I want to improve.  But I’ve found that when I try to follow the rules too closely, my writing sounds like somebody who is trying to follow the rules of writing.

Since I don’t get paid to write for Dysfunctional Literacy, I’ve decided to write the way I want to write, and I’ve noticed that I tend to break some common rules about writing.  Maybe breaking these rules will keep me from becoming a successful author.  I don’t know.  Maybe breaking these rules will help.  Either way, here are some common rules of writing that I sometimes break.

WRITE EVERY DAY.

Nobody should do anything every day…

View original post 1,112 more words

Leave a Reply

