When you love a book too much

book of fishI’m a big fan of Richard Flanagan, and never admitted that I hadn’t read Gould’s Book of Fish. I thought it might be too hard, and it received mixed reviews (not that I should be discouraged by that — check out Please Don’t Leave Me Here on Goodreads for a mixed bag. Ay ay ay!)

Anyway, I had some time on my hands after finishing my second manuscript and thought I’d give Book of Fish a go. I so wish that I hadn’t. I devoured it in a few days, and every book I’ve tried to read since seems flat and lifeless in comparison. Having not studied literary theory formally, I cannot comment on Flanagan’s postmodern experimental narrativisation of colonial Tasmania. Nor can I made clever comparisons to Melville, Dickens, Joyce, Faulkner, Dostoevsky or García Márquez. However, I can say that like the Book of Fish discovered by Sid Hammet in a Salamanca junk shop, for me, Flanagan’s writing glitters with a mesmeric, luminous radiance. Gould’s Book of Fish is both magic realism and brutal realism. Beautiful and grotesque. Truthful and fraudulent. I find myself flicking back through the pages, like lost love, for a glimpse of words, a sentence, a paragraph.

I am prone to making silly, sweeping statements, and I know I’ve said it before (after The Narrow Road to the Deep North) but: BEST BOOK EVER.

I’ve been sucked in by the Elena Ferrante hype and started reading one of her books. It’s good, but … I feel like putting it aside and reading Book of Fish again. And again. In fact, I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to love another book.

Help! How can I move on?

Have you ever loved a book too much?

2 thoughts on “When you love a book too much

  1. Tania Chandler Post author

    Must, must, MUST read, Meg!
    Funny when I got to the end of that Ferrante book, there was a page with this quote: ‘The best thing I’ve read this year, far and away. Ferrante puts most contemporary writing in the shade. She is one of the great writers of our time.’ RICHARD FLANAGAN

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

